Annie’s Blogs

January 26, 2008

I was reading Annie Lennox’s recent blog entry.  She is requesting feedback on her idea of publishing her blogs from the previous year. I thought it was a good idea at first, as I have really enjoyed keeping up with her life through them. One thing I was very impressed by her blogs was how personal she has become, not afraid ever to say how she feels, or even show her outrage sometimes if something unpleasant has been done or said. Being a big fan, this is obviously of interest to me. But these days, annie is not just about music, but someone who is also an activist, humanitarian, campaigner, public speaker… to name a few of the roles she has taken on. I know one message she conveys strongly throughout a lot of her blogs, and when she is interviewed sometimes, is that we, as a society, are becoming more and more silent and unreactive at issues and policies and politics that run and control our everyday lives. We are living in a democracy that is becoming more and more undemocratic. What do you think? 

2 Responses to “Annie’s Blogs”

  1. Dr Monica Marsha III said

    What do I think? Well, that’s a question. Whilst I agree with Annie’s theory, I think it a bit naive in modern-day terms. I would love to think that anything I had to say made any kind of difference. The problem with politics in this country, and world politics, is that too often we CAN’T make a difference. It’s a different world from many years ago when we could try to make a difference (think about the glorious Ms Pankhurst). We live in a society that believes it is middle class if it has a reasonable job and a roof over its head. The reality, of course, is a society of hidden woes and insecurities. Is my neighbour doing better than me? What is my colleague earning? It’s much worse on a global scale, where we always strive to be better than our global competitors. I do my bit, and do it proudly, but do I really think I can make a difference? Not really, sadly.

  2. I think that this is possibly the case. I think that the media has too much power and must have a moral re-check. I’ve just started blogging and avidly following Annie’s activism. Her recent visit to Australia 2009 provoked more awareness of her SING activism, as her luminous music career seems to have blinded some to her other her tireless activism including SING.

    I have noticed unfortunately, that my own personal interest in her humanitarian work an support thereof appears doubtful to some. Why should we care? Why should we become involved? I find apathy and incredulousness a common response, or even fear, and these things are all similarly punctuated by Silence. Deep down, some must really wonder “Why are you involved?” – I’ll follow Annie’s response on that one and ask each of them “how much do you like your couch?” (couch = sofa)

    Are we interested for the sake of the whole – ie. “humanity”, when the media blows out of all proportion the importance of miniscule day-to-day activities of famous people’s lives, echoing the hollow anticipation that we too, should be purely self-centered creatures? It’s a bitter irony, for as good citizens we are expected to take care of our fellows, yet when it comes to the crunch, we could be seen as the “odd ones out” when we care too much.

    Humanity is a big word, I know, and lofty ideals, which require serious practical application spring from it, not to mention numbers. So that’s why I’m involved. Because I care enough, and we need the numbers! At least to do my little bit to support the people who are really able to make changes.

    Silence is the enemy of change and these issues require openness and education. I believe my tiny efforts, which are at least belonging to a movement in a positive direction towards improving lives and a healthier Planet, are important, yes.

Leave a Reply

